2.1 Regional Qualities

The South West is one of Western Australia’s nine recognised regions located outside the Perth metropolitan area. Fronting the Indian and Southern Oceans, covering 24,000km2 and including 12 local government areas, the South West is the most populous and economically diverse of WA’s regions.

The Noongar people are the traditional owners and have widespread cultural and heritage links to places in the region. The future involvement of Noongar people in the economic and social fabric of the region is important in respect of social equity and closing the gap.

2.1.1 Bunbury Geographe

The urban and administrative focus of the Bunbury Geographe sub-region is Bunbury, Western Australia’s largest regional centre. The urban area that is Greater Bunbury includes residential areas in the local governments of Bunbury, Harvey, Dardanup and Capel.

The sub-region features substantial mining resource processing operations, served by Bunbury Port and strategic industrial areas at Kemerton, Waterloo, Worsley and Shotts. The power stations around Collie are facing closure in the short to medium term as the Western Australian Government has committed to cleaner energy options. In the meantime, programs have been put in place to transition the workforce.

Greater Bunbury has a range of higher-order services and facilities, including the Bunbury campus of Edith Cowan University, South Regional TAFE and the South West Health Campus which includes Bunbury Regional Hospital and St John of God private hospital. Most specialist services within the South West are located in Bunbury.